New Jersey Auto Insurance Offices – Find NJ Car Insurance Online.
Get your free NJ auto insurance rate quote started right now (707) 563-6731.
Do it completely by yourself or with expert help, either way we appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance.
Buying NJ home owners and NJ auto policies from the same company If you own a home and an auto and you are insured by two different companies, check into the cost of carrying both policies by one insurer. Your agent can give you guidance as to which insurers offer discounts. This will always offer your the best buy, so put it in your corner when shopping for rates
You can also lower your NJ car insurance rates by requesting higher deductibles, which is the amount of money you pay out of pocket before you make a claim. Increasing your deductibles on collision and comprehensive coverage from $100 to $250, $500 or even $1,000, will bring your rates down. Moreover, you may not need collision and comprehensive coverage if you drive an older car. Ask your agent which discounts are available to you.
After months in committee, the state Assembly approved a bill targeting drivers in New Jersey who buy out-of-state insurance but keep their vehicles in the Garden State.
The proposal in A 2204 criminalizes that practice, called “reverse rate evasion,” as a fourth-degree offense, which carries a penalty of up to 18 months in jail.
Sponsoring Assemblyman Wayne DeAngelo (D-Hamilton) said it is a “growing trend” among motorists trying to dodge the insurance premiums in the state that industry analysts say are among the priciest in the U.S.
According to DeAngelo, North Carolina and Pennsylvania are among the states that most reverse rate evaders pick as their home state for their phony policies.
Last April, authorities in Pennsylvania uncovered a criminal operation that fed false information to motorists in nearby states like New Jersey so that they could engage in reverse rate evasion.
“All vehicles that should be registered and insured in New Jersey should be properly registered and insured,” DeAngelo said in a statement.
The unanimous 76-0 vote on Monday sent the piece of legislation to the state Senate for further consideration.
The landslide vote showed that lawmakers want to fight “loss of revenue to the state, higher premiums for those who properly register their vehicles and [reduced] revenue for New Jersey insurers,” according to DeAngelo.
If you find yourself having trouble getting auto insurance in New Jersey, you may need specialized help from the NJPAIP State of NJ Auto Insurance Plan. This plan is available for any NJ resident that is canceled, declined or non-renewed car insurance coverage in the regular marketplace.
Let us help you simplify your NJ Car Insurance buying process. It is always free and we are glad to help you!
All private passenger vehicles are mandated by NJ law to maintain automobile liability insurance, N.J.S.A. 39:6A et seq. Personal auto coverage may be obtained on a voluntary basis or through the New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan. Rate Filing Requirement – N.J.A.C. 11:3-16 Eligible Persons Regulation – N.J.A.C. 11:3-34 Standard/Nonstandard Regulation – N.J.A.C. 11:3-19 Underwriting Guidelines – N.J.A.C. 11:3-35
NJ Car Insurance Points POINTS ACCUMULATED PERIOD OF SUSPENSION
12 to 15 points in a period of two years or less; 30 days
16 to 18 points in a period of two years or less; 60 days
19 to 21 points in a period of two years or less; 90 days
22 to 24 points in a period of two years or less; 120 days
25 to 27 points in a period of two years or less; 150 days
28 or more points in a period of two years or less; not less
than 180 days
15 to 18 points in a period greater than two years; 30 days
19 to 22 points in a period greater than two years; 60 days
23 to 26 points in a period greater than two years; 90 days
27 to 30 points in a period greater than two years; 120 days
31 to 35 points in a period greater than two years; 150 days
36 or more points in a period greater than two years; not
less than 180 days
12 to 14 points in a period greater than two years; 30 day